Common questions

What are the connections of cerebellum?

What are the connections of cerebellum?

Connecting the cerebellum to different parts of the nervous system are three paired cerebellar peduncles. These are the superior cerebellar peduncle, the middle cerebellar peduncle and the inferior cerebellar peduncle, named by their position relative to the vermis.

What are efferent connections?

Efferent nerve fibers refer to axonal projections that exit a particular region; as opposed to afferent projections that arrive at the region. A bundle of these fibers is called an efferent nerve (if it connects to muscles, then it is a motor nerve).

What are afferent and efferent connections?

Afferent nerve fibers are the axons (nerve fibers) carried by a sensory nerve that relay sensory information from sensory receptors to regions of the brain. Efferent nerve fibers are carried by efferent nerves and exit a region to act on muscles and glands.

How many types of efferent cerebellar pathways are there?

Connections of the cerebellum The inferior cerebellar peduncle contains four afferent tracts (posterior spinocerebellar, vestibulocerebellar, olivocerebellar and reticulocerebellar) and one efferent tract (the cerebellovestibular tract).

What is the efferent pathway?

Nerve structures through which impulses are conducted from a nerve center toward a peripheral site. Such impulses are conducted via efferent neurons (NEURONS, EFFERENT), such as MOTOR NEURONS, autonomic neurons, and hypophyseal neurons.

What is the function of efferent nerves?

Efferent nerve fibers carry nerve impulses away from the central nervous system to effectors such as muscles or glands (target organs).

What are afferent nerves called?

Afferent neurons – also called sensory neurons – are the nerves responsible for sensing a stimulus. Then, they send information about that stimulus to your central nervous system. These neurons are located in the central nervous system (the brain and spinal cord).

Can nerves be afferent and efferent?

Ganglia are collections, or small knots, of nerve cell bodies outside the CNS. The peripheral nervous system is further subdivided into an afferent (sensory) division and an efferent (motor) division. The afferent or sensory division transmits impulses from peripheral organs to the CNS.

What are the 3 cerebellar peduncles?

There are three on each side: the inferior cerebellar peduncle (#4025, #6172), the middle cerebellar peduncle (brachium pontis) (#8361, #6553), and the superior cerebellar peduncle (brachium conjunctivum) (#6554). The middle and inferior cerebellar peduncles contain most of the cerebellar afferents.

What are the afferent and efferent pathways in the cerebellum?

Afferent and efferent pathways of the cerebellum Deep cerebellar nuclei Dentate, emboliform, fastigial, globose Afferent connections Olivocerebellar, vestibulocerebellar, .. Efferent connections Cerebellovestibular, cerebelloreticular,

What are the main connections of the cerebellum?

The diagram (above, left) shows the main connections of the cerebellum. Theinferior cerebellar pedunclecarries axons from the spinal cord (the spinocerebellar and cuneo-cerebellar tracts; and in addition a major pathway form the contralateral olivary nuclei.

Where do cerebellar efferent fibers terminate in the brain?

Cerebellar efferent fibers terminate contralaterally in both divisions of the red nucleus, and bilaterally in the interstitial nucleus of Cajal, the nucleus of Darkschewitsch, the oculomotor nucleus, and the central gray.

Where are cortical inputs located in the cerebellum?

The largest inputs are the cortical inputs, interpolated in the pontine nuclei. They run through the middle cerebellar peduncles (brachia pontis). Efferent tracts running to the thalamus, red nucleus and reticular formation nuclei are localized in the superior cerebellar peduncles (brachia conjunctiva).