What are the 6 stages of moral development by Kohlberg?

What are the 6 stages of moral development by Kohlberg?

Like Piaget, subjects were unlikely to regress in their moral development, but instead, moved forward through the stages: pre-conventional, conventional, and finally post-conventional. Each stage offers a new perspective, but not everyone functions at the highest level all the time.

Why are Kohlberg’s Stages 3 and 4 morally mature constructions?

Stage 3: Good Interpersonal Relationships. Morality arises from living up to the standards of a given group, such as one’s family or community, and being a good group member. Stage 4: Maintaining the Social Order. The individual becomes more aware of the rules of society on a broader scale.

What was Kohlberg trying to accomplish with his theory?

Kohlberg’s theory of moral development is a theory that focuses on how children develop morality and moral reasoning. Kohlberg’s theory suggests that moral development occurs in a series of six stages. The theory also suggests that moral logic is primarily focused on seeking and maintaining justice.

What are the five stages of moral development?


  • Theoretical framework. Level 1: Preconventional level. Stage 1: Punishment/obedience orientation. Stage 2: Instrumental purpose orientation. Level 2: Conventional level. Stage 3: Good Boy/Nice Girl orientation. Stage 4: Law and order orientation.
  • Basic tenets of Kohlberg’s theory.
  • Measurement of moral development.
  • What are the stages of cognitive moral development?

    Lawrence Kohlberg expanded on the earlier work of cognitive theorist Jean Piaget to explain the moral development of children, which he believed follows a series of stages. Kohlberg defined three levels of moral development: preconventional, conventional, and postconventional. Each level has two distinct stages.

    How do you promote moral development?

    Ways to Promote Moral Development and Pro-social Behavior

    1. Offering a warm, nurturing, empathetic relationship between parent and child.
    2. Consistently behaving in a moral manner.
    3. Teaching respect through your parenting style.

    What are the 5 characteristics of development?

    These are:

    • It is a continuous process.
    • It follows a particular pattern like infancy, childhood, adolescence, maturity.
    • Most traits are correlated in development.
    • It is the result of interaction of individual and environment.
    • It is predictable.
    • It is both quantitative and qualitative.

    How many stages of moral development does Kohlberg propose?

    Kohlberg extended Piaget’s theory, proposing that moral development is a continual process that occurs throughout the lifespan. His theory outlines six stages of moral development within three different levels.

    How is Kohlberg’s theory related to cognitive development?

    Kohlberg’s Theory of Moral Development By Saul McLeod, updated 2013 Kohlberg’s theory proposes that there are three levels of moral development, with each level split into two stages. Kohlberg suggested that people move through these stages in a fixed order, and that moral understanding is linked to cognitive development.

    Which is the highest stage of Kohlberg’s theory?

    People pass through each stage sequentiallywith the thinking at the new stage replacing the thinking at the previous stage. Not everyone reached the highest stages in Kohlberg’s theory. In fact, Kohlberg believed that many didn’t move past his third and fourth stages. Level 1: Preconventional Morality

    What are the necessary elements did Kohlberg identify?

    According to Kohlberg this level of moral reasoning is as far as most people get. Only 10-15% are capable of the kind of abstract thinking necessary for stage 5 or 6 (post-conventional morality). That is to say, most people take their moral views from those around them and only a minority think through ethical principles for themselves. • Stage 5.