What was the voter turnout in Karnataka in 2013?

What was the voter turnout in Karnataka in 2013?

The election was held in a single phase on 5 May 2013 for 223 out of total 224 seats. A voter turnout of 70.23% was recorded. 50,446 polling stations were set up for the 4.18 crore voters in Karnataka. Election in the constituency of Periyapatna had been adjourned due to the death of the BJP candidate, Sannamogegowda, a day before polls.

How many seats are there in Karnataka Legislative Assembly?

Though Karnataka has 224 assembly constituencies, elections were held only for 223 seats. The election for the Piriyapatna constituency was postponed to 28 May 2013 due to the death of the BJP candidate for the seat. The voter turnout in the state was 70.23%.

Who is the current Chief Minister of Karnataka?

Following the defeat, Chief Minister Jagadish Shettar submitted his resignation on 8 May. Governor H. R. Bharadwaj later appointed INC legislative leader Siddaramaiah as the next chief minister. The next election was held in May 2018. The election results for each constituency are as follows. Appaji Gowda. M.J Kalale. N. Keshavamurthy

Which is the largest political party in Karnataka?

In local body elections, the Congress and the JD (S) won more seats while the BJP was pushed to third. In the by-election to the Udupi Chimagalur Lok Sabha seat held in March 2012, the Congress won. Yeddyurappa quit the BJP in November 2012 and formed his own party, the Karnataka Janata Paksha (KJP).

Who are the candidates of Madhya Pradesh Legislative Assembly?

A total of 2,586 candidates filled their nomination for 230 seats spread across 51 districts. Prominent BJP candidates included former CM Babulal Gaur (Govindpura constituency in Bhopal), Kailash Vijayvargiya (Mhow in Indore) and former PM, Atal Bihari Vajpayee ’s nephew Anoop Mishra (Bhitarvar in Gwalior).

Which is the highest voter turnout in Madhya Pradesh?

Polling started with a brisk voter turnout reaching only 18% till 1100 hours, however, turnout increased significantly after mid day and reached 71% by the evening, surpassing the earlier 69.08% turnout recorded during 2008 elections, making it the highest recorded voter turnout in Madhya Pradesh.

Who was the Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh in 2003?

One of the main centre of attraction was the contest between Congress heavy-weight Arun yadav and the then Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan . While the Shivraj Singh Chouhan government had tried to win for consecutive 4th term, the INC had fight for winning the state after 2003.