Useful tips

How many times have the Lions won Super Rugby?

How many times have the Lions won Super Rugby?

They had varied results in Super Rugby, finishing at the bottom of the table six times (in 1998, 2003, 2004, 2008, 2010 and 2012), but reaching the semifinal stage five times (in 2000, 2001, 2016, 2017 and 2018).

Who won the 2020 Currie Cup?

the Blue Bulls
The competition was won by the Blue Bulls, who beat the Sharks 26–19 after extra time in the final played at Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria on 30 January 2021.

Who won the Currie Cup Final 2021?

Vodacom Bulls
South Africa’s oldest and premier provincial competition, which was contested from October 2020 to January 2021 during a season disrupted by COVID-19, ended in joy for the Vodacom Bulls as they won the title for the first time since 2009, beating the Durban-based Cell C Sharks in a dramatic and nail-biting home final …

How many Currie Cups have the Sharks won?

The team is the third most successful provincial union in the Currie Cup, having won the competition eight times. Natal won its first Currie Cup in 1990, the same year the union celebrated its centenary. Since then the Sharks have won the Currie Cup in 1992, 1995, 1996, 2008, 2010, 2013 and most recently in 2018.

Who has most Super Rugby Cups?

New Zealand
The competition has been dominated by New Zealand teams, who have won 17 times in 24 years. The Crusaders have won most often, with ten titles.

What is the highest number of tries scored in a single RWC match?

Bryan Habana & Jonah Lomu share the record for the most tries (15) in Rugby World Cups, and share the record for most tries in a single World Cup tournament (8) with Julian Savea (below)….Tries.

Tries 15
Name Bryan Habana
Team South Africa
Tournaments 2007–2015

Why is it called Currie Cup?

The following summer a domestic competition, the Currie Cup, named after Sir Donald Currie, who donated the trophy, began with two sides – Kimberley and Transvaal – playing against each other.

Who sponsors Currie Cup?

The Cup of Champions has partnered with South Africa’s champion beer in a bold, new agreement that will see the world’s oldest provincial rugby competition officially become the Carling Currie Cup for the next three seasons.

Who won the most Currie Cups?

Currie Cup

Current season or competition: 2021 Currie Cup Premier Division
Number of teams Premier Division: 7 First Division: 8
Country South Africa
Holders Blue Bulls (2020–21)
Most titles Western Province (34) Four shared (4)

What time is the Currie Cup Final 2021?


Vodacom Bulls Loftus Versfeld Saturday, 28 August 2021, 16:45 39 – 36 Toyota Cheetahs
TBC Carling Currie Cup Semi-Final Saturday, 4 September 2021 TBC
TBC Carling Currie Cup Final Saturday, 11 September 2021 TBC

How many times have the Blue Bulls won the Currie Cup?

All five of the so-called ‘big unions’ have won the Currie Cup on at least one occasion in the last 20 years; the Golden Lions (formerly Transvaal) have won the trophy 3 times in 1999, 2011 and 2015; Western Province have won the trophy on six occasions in 1997, 2000, 2001, 2012, 2014, and 2017; the Blue Bulls ( …

Who won the Super Rugby the most?

Super Rugby/Latest Champion

Who are the teams in the Currie Cup?

From 1996 to 2015, the following 14 provincial unions participated in the Currie Cup: In 2016 and 2017, the Currie Cup added Welwitschias, a team from Namibia, and in 2019, the Jaguares XV from Argentina. From the 2020 the tournament adds a Georgian team.

Is the Currie Cup still important in South Africa?

Whilst these days the competition lags behind Super Rugby and The Rugby Championship (previously the Tri-Nations) in the order of importance, the Currie Cup still holds a special place amongst South African rugby supporters and players, with the trophy very much still the holy grail of the South African domestic rugby scene.

When did Western Province win the Currie Cup?

The late 1940s and early 1950s were dominated by Transvaal who would win the trophy in 1950 and 1952, however in 1954 the Currie Cup would finally return south following Western Province’s narrow 11–8 victory over Northern Transvaal in the final at Newlands in Cape Town.

When did the first Currie Cup come out?

Steeped in history and tradition, the Currie Cup dates back to 1891.