Common questions

What are the three stages of multiple myeloma?

What are the three stages of multiple myeloma?

In this system, there are three stages of myeloma: Stage I, Stage II, and Stage III….The stage depends on factors including:

  • The amount of myeloma cells in the body.
  • The amount of damage the myeloma cells have caused to the bone.
  • Levels of M-protein in the blood or urine.
  • Blood calcium levels.
  • Albumin and hemoglobin levels.

What is the early stage of multiple myeloma?

This earliest phase is called smoldering multiple myeloma. When you have it, you won’t have any symptoms, but your test results will show: At least 10% to 59% of your bone marrow is made up of cancerous plasma cells. You have the abnormal antibodies that myeloma cells make in your blood or urine.

What are the symptoms of Stage 2 multiple myeloma?

Stage 2. Classification of stage 2 multiple myeloma occurs with test results that are between the levels expected for stage 1 and stage 3. Stage 2 indicates the progression of the cancer. A person may start to experience symptoms, such as bone pain, loss of appetite, and fatigue.

How many stages are there in multiple myeloma?

The system has 3 stages based on the measurement of serum albumin and the levels of serum β2-M. Recent efforts have been made to further classify myeloma based on patterns of gene expression in myeloma cells.

What is the longest survival rate for Myeloma?

How long can a person live with multiple myeloma?

Revised international staging system Median survival
Stage I 62 months (5 years, 2 months)
Stage II 42 months (3.5 years)
Stage III 29 months (2 years, 5 months)

Is Myeloma a death sentence?

Multiple myeloma was once considered a death sentence, but over the past 30 years, things have changed. Although multiple myeloma is still a very serious type of cancer, our ability to treat it is rapidly improving.

How does the Durie Salmon staging system work?

The Durie Salmon staging system correlates the amount of multiple myeloma and the damage it has caused, such as bone disease or anemia. In 1975, the Durie-Salmon Staging System was developed, bringing together the major clinical parameters in correlation with measured myeloma cell mass (the total number of myeloma cells in the body).

What is the salmon-Durie classification of mm?

The Salmon-Durie classification of MM is based on three stages and additional subclassifications. In stage I, the MM cell mass is less than 0.6 × 10 12 cells/m 2, and all of the following are present:

What are the staging criteria for multiple myeloma?

The following table details the stages and criteria for measuring the presence and staging multiple myeloma. Comprised of leading medical researchers, hematologist, oncologists, oncology-certified nurses, medical editors, and medical journalists, our team has extensive knowledge of the multiple myeloma treatment and care landscape.

How are prognostic factors used in the staging system?

Potential prognostic factors were evaluated using a variety of statistical techniques. Serum β2 microglobulin (Sβ2M), serum albumin, platelet count, serum creatinine, and age emerged as powerful predictors of survival and were then further analyzed.