What are the 5 important rivers of India?

What are the 5 important rivers of India?

Seven major rivers (Indus, Brahmaputra, Narmada, Tapi, Godavari, Krishna and Mahanadi )along with their numerous tributaries make up the river system of India.

What are the 8 important rivers of India?

  • 8 important rivers of India: Stories behind famous rivers of India. Rivers in India can be classified as Himalayan Rivers and Peninsular Rivers, and every river has a story to tell.
  • GANGA. Ganga is the most sacred river to Hindus and is worshipped as goddess Ganga.

What are the 12 rivers in India map?


  • Ganges River Map.
  • Brahmaputra River Map.
  • Indus River Map.
  • Kosi River Map.
  • Chambal River Map.
  • Yamuna River Map.
  • Jamuna River Map.

What are the nine important rivers in India?

These nine rivers – the Ganga, Godavari, Brahmaputra, Narmada, Krishna, Cauvery, Mahanadi, Sutlej & Tapi – symbolize abundance and prosperity bestowed on our lands.

Who is the big river of India?

At over three thousand kilometers long, the Indus is the longest river of India. It originates in Tibet from Lake Mansarovar before flowing through the regions of Ladakh and Punjab, joining the Arabian Sea at Pakistan’s Karachi port.

Which is biggest river in India?

What is the national river of India?

The Ganga or Ganges is the longest river of India flowing over 2,510 kms of mountains, valleys and plains.

What rivers are located in northern India?

The Ganges River, also called Ganga, is a river located in northern India that flows toward the border with Bangladesh (map). It is the longest river in India and flows for around 1,569 miles (2,525 km) from the Himalayan Mountains to the Bay of Bengal .

What are the names of the Indian rivers?

Gomai River in Nandurbar district of Maharashtra Arunavati River in Dhule district of Maharashtra Panzara River in Jalgaon, Dhule districts of Maharashtra Kaan River in Dhule district Aner River in Jalgaon, Dhule districts Girna River in Nashik, Malegaon, Jalgaon districts Titur River in Jalgaon district Waghur River in Jalgaon, Aurangabad districts

How are the Indian rivers divided?

Indian rivers are divided on the basis of their origin. The Himalayan rivers originate from glaciers and, the peninsular rivers are dependent on rainfall. We’ll discuss some cool facts about both Himalayan and peninsular rivers of India.