What are the eight 8 learning areas of the Australian Curriculum?

What are the eight 8 learning areas of the Australian Curriculum?

Disciplinary knowledge, skills and understanding are described in the eight learning areas of the Australian Curriculum: English, Mathematics, Science, Health and Physical Education, Humanities and Social Sciences, The Arts, Technologies and Languages.

What do year 8 learn in Australia?

Typically students will: In Years 7 and 8, students use inquiry skills to develop social, historical, geographical, environmental, civic, political, business and economic knowledge and understandings, and view issues from a local to a global scale.

What curriculum does Australia use?

The Australian Curriculum is a national curriculum for all primary and secondary schools in Australia under progressive development, review, and implementation. The curriculum is developed and reviewed by the Australian Curriculum, Assessment and Reporting Authority, an independent statutory body.

How is the Australian Curriculum used in Australian schools?

The Australian Curriculum can be used flexibly by schools, according to jurisdictional and system policies and schedules, to develop programs that meet the educational needs of their students and that extend and challenge students. existing curriculum development cycles and processes.

What are the 8 curriculum areas?

The eight curriculum areas are:

  • Expressive arts.
  • Health and wellbeing.
  • Languages.
  • Mathematics.
  • Religious and moral education.
  • Sciences.
  • Social studies.
  • Technologies.

What age is year 8 in Australia?


Year Ages School
Grade or Year 6 11–12 Primary
Grade or Year 7 12–13 Secondary
Grade or Year 8 13–14
Grade or Year 9 14–15

Do year 8 have exams?

What are the Year 8 Exams? The Year 8 Exams will be taking place in most subjects in the week beginning Monday 25th January. While these exams do not lead to any external qualifications, they are an important benchmark for both school and home to see how well your child is progressing.

Who is the Australian Curriculum designed for?

The Australian Curriculum is designed to develop successful learners, confident and creative individuals, and active and informed citizens.

What is the purpose of Australian Curriculum?

The Australian Curriculum sets consistent national standards to improve learning outcomes for all young Australians. It sets out, through content descriptions and achievement standards, what students should be taught and achieve, as they progress through school.

What are the 4 capacities of Curriculum for Excellence?

The purpose of the curriculum, planned on this basis, is to make sure that learners acquire the four capacities of Curriculum for Excellence to be: > successful learners > confident individuals > effective contributors > responsible citizens.

Is there a Year 13 in Australia?

Australia. In certain Australian states, some schools will offer a ‘Year 13’ programme to students who wish to complete the usual one-year Year 12 programme over two years, or who were not successful in a sufficient number of subjects to attain the relevant Year 12 qualification on their first attempt.

What do you learn in Year 8 geography?

Year 8 Australian Curriculum: Geography achievement standard By the end of Year 8, students explain geographical processes that influence the characteristics of places and explain how places are perceived and valued differently.

How is geography included in the Australian Curriculum?

The Australian Curriculum: Geography is organised in two related strands: geographical knowledge and understanding, and geographical inquiry and skills. Geographical knowledge and understanding strand.

How are standard elaborations developed in the Australian Curriculum?

•developing task-specific standards for individual assessment tasks. Structure The SEs are developed using the Australian Curriculum achievement standard. The Geography achievement standard describes the learning expected of students at each year level.

Why is geography so important to young Australians?

In a world of increasing global integration and international mobility, it is critical to the wellbeing and sustainability of the environment and society that young Australians develop a holistic understanding of the world.